Awk WORD! My Awkward Moment of the Day. Thursday the Twenty-Fourth

So I work at a newsagency, and we get a lot of deliveries from card companies or stationary companies. And these are dropped off by delivery men (who’da thunk it.) Now the delivery men are usually old, Asian men. But there is this one guy that is kind of cute. He drops off the boxes from Hallmark.

We always exchange pleasantries when he comes in.  And working at a newsagency – where the average customer is a 50 year old woman – I’m desperate for some eye candy.

Instead of dropping off a box, he was today buying a card from a co-worker who I was serving next to. So I was just attempting to be non-chalant and offer the casual ‘hey’ after a few minutes of serving the customer next to him. And once again, pleasantries were exchanged. I threw in a “Not working today?” just for good measure. My co-worker, Kat, was trying to contain a smirk. Apparently, just by standing next to me, she could tell that I not only had a crush on him, but she figured out my entire “non-chalant” facade. And she also says he can tell too.

So the next ten minutes was asking “are you sureeee he knows?’ while I blushed a lovely shade of red.

And, by the way, i am 20 YEARS OLD.

Leave a comment